The Lore

This is a reference page for the lore within this legacy.

- The Lore -


Every creature or being that was thought to be mythical . . . isn’t.
They all secretly exist alongside humans and enjoy the gift of immortality. There are hundreds of different kinds: from Vampires to Lykae, from Furies to Shifters, from the Fey to Valkyries.  And that is just the beginning. They reach immortality when they are at their strongest. Most Loreans can only be killed by decapitation, or before their immortality sets in. Humans can almost never be turned into a creature of the Lore. There are a few exceptions, but it rarely works out.

- The Accession -

 "And a time shall pass that all immortal beings in the Lore, from the strongest Valkyrie, vampire, and Lykae factions, to the phantoms, shifters, fairies, sirens … must fight and destroy each other."

A kind of mystical checks-and-balances system for an ever-growing population of immortals. Occurs every five hundred years. Or right now.. Has two sides: Pravus (evil) and Vertas. (good)

- Demons -


A collection of demon dynasties, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.  Many make their homes on Demon realms that are parallel to our own. Demons can be both good or evil. Appearance is humanoid with two matching horns protruding from the skull. Some demon breeds can change their form, such as the Rage Demons, when threatened. A demon must have intercourse with a potential mate to ascertain if she's truly his, a process known as attempting. Many Demon breeds can trace. Tracing is teleporting, but they can only trace to destinations they have previously been to or to those they can see

- The Fey -


Often called “The Noble Fey”, they are masters in the art of poisons.  There are many different sub-sets, including Fire, Ice and Forest Fey. Appearance is humanoid with the exception of pointed ears. Some Fey may have wings.

- Lykae -


They display the wolf’s traits: the need for touch, an intense loyalty to its kind, an animal craving for the delights of the flesh.  Also called Werewolves. When they or their mate is threatened they go through a process known as "Letting the beast out of it's cage." This also happens uncontrolably on every full moon. Appearance is human until they change. After the change they turn into half-man, half-wolf with ice blue eyes. They find their mates by smell. No Lorean can over power a Lykae when the beast has been let out. 

- The Valkyrie -

"When a maiden warrior screams for courage as she dies in battle, Wóden and Freya heed her
call. The two gods give up lightning to strike her, rescuing her to their hall, and preserving her
courage forever in the form of the maiden's immortal Valkyrie daughter."

Take sustenance from the electrical energy of the earth, sharing it in one collective power, and give it back with their emotions in the form of lightning. Without training, they can be mesmerized by shiny objects and jewels. All first generation of Valkyrie are half sisters. Valkyrie only eat or drink from the earth when they want to conceive. Appearance is humanoid, almost always beautiful, with pointy fey ears and small fangs. Can also die by sorrow.


- Vampires -


Includes two warring factions, the evil Fallen Vampires, who drink their victims to death. As they drink their victims they take in their victims memories, and see them as they dream, making them crazy. Are distinguishable by their red eyes.  The Forebearers, Vampires who do not drink their victims to death and they eyes are clear of blood. They can die by sunlight. All vampires' hearts stop beating when they reach immortality. Only when they meet their mate will it beat again - a process known as blooding. Their mate is known as their Bride. A blooded vampire is the strongest of the Loreans, after the Lykae's beast. Only blooded vampires can reproduce, because their bodies are technically dead until this happens. All Vampires can trace. Most factions of the Lore despise all Vampires. 

- The House of Witches -


Mystical mercenaries who sell their spells. They are separated into five castes: Warrior: A Witch with defensive powers, Healer: Able to heal wounds on any Lorean, Human or themselves, Enchantress: A witch able to enchant someone to do her bidding,  Conjurer: Able to conjurer any item,  and Seeress: A witch capable of seeing the future. They are physically the most vulnerable. Also includes Warlocks.

- Phantoms -


 The only faction that was once human. After a ghost has been grounded for 500 years, it eventually grows a physical form. Phantoms have two forms and are almost impossible to kill because of their ghostly form, which cannot be hurt in any way.

Credit: This lore was taken from Kresley Cole's "Immortals After Dark" series and is based on that world.

No comments :

Post a Comment